If it’s green, it belongs in this smoothie

In my mind, it began as a Green Elvis smoothie. The King of Rock and Roll enjoyed peanut butter-banana sandwiches, so goes the legend, and I figured I wouldn’t even taste the fresh spinach I picked up at the grocery yesterday in there.

But the only peanuts I had were salt-and-pepper peanuts, and that was more savory flavor than I could stomach in a smoothie. You like kale in your smoothie? You might like salt-and-pepper peanuts, too, I don’t know, but I’ve tried kale in my smoothies, and it’s disgusting. Smoothies should be like dessert, not like a meal for a toothless old coot.

(I’ve also heard Elvis liked bacon in those peanut butter-banana sandwiches, and for a brief moment, I considered putting bacon in the smoothie and calling it a Green Elvis & Ham Smoothie, but no. That’s just wrong.)

OK, so how about a little less Elvis and a little more green? How about pistachios, a green nut?

Perfect.

And what’s this in my fridge? Leftover avocado? Green apple? It’s destiny.

Thus, my breakfast yesterday morning was born. It’s a stick-to-your-ribs 400-calorie smoothie that’s a perfectly balanced mix of carbohydrates, fats (the good kind) and protein. The yogurt makes it creamy, and the chia seeds make it thick. I’m sure Elvis would have hated it (he probably slept through breakfast), but you might like it.

Green Smoothie

Green-Greener-Greenest Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 banana, sliced and frozen
  • 1/2 Granny Smith apple, cut into chunks and frozen
  • 1/4 avocado, cut into chunks and frozen
  • 1/2 cup spinach
  • 1/2 ounce pistachios (shelled of course, do I need to say that?)
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt (I prefer fat-free)
  • 1 scoop vanilla-flavored whey protein powder
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1 teaspoon green tea leaves
  • 1-2 teaspoons stevia
  • 1/4-1/3 cup water (you need only enough water to help your blender work; too much, and your smoothie will be more drinkable than spoonable, and that’s no way to eat a smoothie)

Directions:

  1. Combine ingredients in a blender (I love the single-serving glasses for saving on washing dishes later). Blend until smooth. Consume with gusto.
4 responses to “If it’s green, it belongs in this smoothie

  1. Is there no end to the number of things that go into a smoothie? The paradox is that all of this stuff is supposed to be healthy, yet smoothies are known for having a lot of calories.

    • I don’t see a paradox. “Healthy” does not equal “low in calories.” Case in point: Diet soda has no calories but it is not healthy (in fact, an argument could be made that is is UNhealthy because it simply encourages sugar cravings, but that’s another point). So this smoothie (and all others) has calories, yes, but if you’re looking for a healthy breakfast, it beats a sausage and egg biscuit (410 calories, 27 grams saturated fat, 1010 mgs of sodium and zero fiber) by a mile and it’s just as portable (i.e., can be consumed in the car on the way to work at at one’s desk). The Green-Greener-Greenest Smoothie has 450 calories, 170 mgs sodium and 11 grams of fiber.

  2. That actually looks really good! I will be sure to test it out! 🍀🍀🍀

  3. Once you have made this, you can use your leftover avocado seed to grow your own plant, it’s really easy! I just did a post on my blog about it: https://greengrowblog.wordpress.com/2017/04/24/rapid-growth-of-abacate-avocado/?frame-nonce=a74094668f

Leave a Reply

