Glory be

While the secular world recovered from a Thanksgiving dinner-induced food coma and then leapt loopily into Black Friday-Small Business Saturday-Cyber Monday (which for many overeager online retailers began on Friday), Christians rang in a new year.

Today is the first Sunday of the liturgical year which is to say the First Sunday in Advent.

Advent is the run-up to Christmas, a liminal season of expectation. But to describe it only as a time of waiting sells Advent short, just as the days between Thanksgiving and Dec. 25 are more than simply an out-of-breath sprint to be endured.

For me, it’s not this time of year without spending some time in church. Sitting (and standing and singing and praying) through a worship service slows down time.

This is not a post about why you should go to church. That’s your call. This is a post about why I go to church. For me, Advent is the best time of year to spend some time in church, to be observant to the reason for the season. Christmas is all crowds and traditional-in-the-extreme music (let’s just say I’m not a fan of “Silent Night, Holy Night”). Lent, too, is a run-up season, preparing Christians for Easter, but Lent and Easter are solemn. The messages are heavy on crucifixion and death (yes, and rising again, I know, but rising from the tomb).

Advent, though, is news about pregnancy and babies and angels and birthdays. (That Advent also coincides with the countdown to my own birthday is just happy coincidence.)

I went to Mass last night for the first time in years, maybe even a decade. It was a beautiful quiet service in an enormous church where hundreds of people were doing the same thing I was — celebrating the new church year. I was reminded how lovely is the ritual of Mass, so familiar and universal.

I was once Catholic, but when I got divorced, I reverted to my origin religion, Lutheran. A week ago, I read the scripture lessons for the last time at the Lutheran church where I am a member. I resigned my position as reader in anticipation of moving away. Coincidentally, it was also the last Sunday of the church year.

Serendipity.

I kind of felt like I was throwing off the bonds of responsibility and the old year and the old way of worshiping all at once. Celebrating the new Christian year for me meant Mass in a big, beautiful church. Which is how I found myself last night in church I’d never been in before soaking up Bible readings about waiting and preparation and expectation.

It is the perfect message on which to meditate for a woman waiting (and waiting) to sell her house.

Advent is not an empty time, I was reminded. It is a season of fullness. Because preparing is just as meaningful as celebrating. Anticipation should be as joy-filled as the hullabaloo for which we’re waiting.

Pondering Advent and the imminent celebration of the birth of Christ, I was reminded of a scene I appreciated earlier this year.

nativity-facade

This is the Nativity Façade at the Sagrada Familia, aka the Basilica and Expiatory Church of the Holy Family in Barcelona, Spain. The church was designed by Spanish architect Antoni Gaudi. The structure is so elaborate, it has been under construction since 1882 and remains incomplete. This is the entryway to the church, and I snapped this picture when I had the opportunity to tour it in June. As you might expect, the Nativity Façade is dedicated to the birth of Jesus.

A single figure is itself a fantastic sculpture, and here there are hundreds of them. But let’s look at the central point of interest there, right above the two doorways of entry.

nativity

You can see Jesus surrounded by his mother Mary and Joseph. Check out those two faces peeking around the corners — an oxen and a donkey. Kind of cute, if you ask me. Carved into stone above Joseph’s head are the words “Gloria in excelsis Deo” (you can read Deo clearly in this closeup). That’s Latin for “Glory to God in the highest.”

This sculptured wall is the entryway to the church (inside is entirely amazing experience in itself). But before you even get inside to see it (and, presumably, participate in Mass), this enormous highly detailed art greets you. You could spend days gazing at each sculpture, taking in the meaning, and you’re still outside the building.

That’s Advent. Days of detail, building up to the threshold of Christmas.

Don’t wish it away. Soak it in.

8 responses to “Glory be

  1. Pingback: It’s Not This Time of Year Without: Lists | What's (in) the picture?

  2. SO enjoyed reading this.

  3. I loved reading this. I felt soulfully connected to all of it. Ironically I’ve been attending several churches during this season of my life. I love this one Sat night service near me; fire-in-the soulful music and preaching. You leave wanting to jump up and down, go tell someone about Christ!! A couole weeks ago, a friend from a Bible study at my ELCA church in Edina (aka divorce group) asked what service I was going to. He wanted to come experience the worship at this ELCA church. He’s living in So MPLS. He’s black. He’s not Lutheran. He’s actually a very devoted Christian in a very rigid denomination. Anyway, I encouraged him to join me for the Sat night revival service. Nope, Sunday morn. After the service, he leaned over and said: ‘I just love the TRANQUILITY of a traditional church like this’. Tranquil, what a great descriptor, right? Your post reminded me of the spirit of faith in tranquility. ((Hugs))

    • Right, a Catholic Mass is NOT a “jump up and down” kind of experience (unless you’re using hyperbole about the kneelers). It’s more tranquil. Different strokes. But good for you for going WITH someone! I do enjoy trying out different types of churches. I feel like it gives me a sense of a place. Sort of like doing a run up and down the streets of a city gives me a better sense of things than just flying in an airport and taking a cab to a hotel. I’m planning to try a different Catholic service each week in Advent.

  4. Yes, I love the season of Advent! Expectation and hope–so much what we all need right now.

  5. Pingback: NanoPoblano Day Twenty-Seven – Poetry – “The Threshold Of Limitless Potential” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  6. While I am a Baptist pastor, I enjoy celebrating Advent with my congregants. Thank you for sharing your Advent journey through word and pictures.

Leave a Reply

