2015 blogging by the numbers

I just got my annual report from WordPress.com and the verdict’s in: Readership is down.

Of course, it hasn’t helped that I haven’t posted since early November. I’ve got a great excuse, which I can’t get into now, but seriously, what I’ve been doing since early November is worthy of a book, never mind a blog.

In any case, Minnesota Transplant had 12,059 clicks in 2015, down from 15,495 in 2014. It’s a trend. The high point for me in blog readership was 2012 (26,720 views). The truth is, I write for me (and Mom, let’s be honest), not so much for greater blogging public. Having a blog forces me to think about my life in a different way and Write. It. Down. Which is great practice for someone who thinks herself a writer.

Here’s an excerpt from the annual report:

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 12,000 times in 2015. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 4 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

The busiest day of the year was June 20th with 122 views. The most popular post that day was Hung up on hangers.

Really? Those before-and-after photos are golden.

Where did readers come from? That’s 87 countries in all! Most visitors came from The United States. Canada & United Kingdom were not far behind.

Whatever the numbers say, I say “Thank you.” Thank you for reading. Thank you for being interested. Thank you for hanging in there through the dry times. And here’s to a rich, thought-provoking 2016!

4 responses to “2015 blogging by the numbers

  1. I, for one, would like you to be the prolific writer you used to be. I looked forward to your insight on so many varied topics and I wish to again in 2016!

    Uncle Lee

    • Insight! There’s that word again. Thank you, Uncle Lee, you’re the third person who has mentioned my “insight” as being worthy in the past week. I appreciate you!

  2. Could this also represent a trend towards aggregators such as feedly (how I read the blog).

    I rarely if ever go directly to the blog page.

    Happy New Year

    • You know, I think you have a point. I have a lot more email subscribers who don’t have to click back to the blog either. And now that you bring this up, I know Facebook’s approach provably affects how many of my friends see my blog link each day, too. This is reassuring. Happy new year to you, too!

Leave a Reply

