Fall breeze whisks in

Listen! the wind is rising,
and the air is wild with leaves.
We have had our summer evenings,
now for October eves!

~ Humbert Wolfe

hickory treer 2015

The breeze was wild today, and I fear the backyard hickory tree’s leaves soon will be gone (my goodness, look at the yard!), so I took this picture to stop time.

Regular readers will remember I photographed this tree every day for a month last autumn (click here for that slide show). I gaze at this tree for two minutes every morning while standing in the tub (where the window is) and brushing my teeth with my electric toothbrush. It’s one of those daily rituals that force me to observe how time passes, both quickly (in minutes) and slowly (in seasons).

Leave a Reply

