What a difference a “tac” makes!

Sometimes it’s the copy editor who saves your bacon. Sometimes it’s your beta readers.

Sometimes it’s your mother.

My mother is reading the draft of my latest work in progress, a beauty and fitness book which, of course, you’ll hear more about as it becomes more real (note to Barb: You could be a beta reader, too, if you’d ever return my call). Right now, it’s 34,000 words and a bunch of random photos from a photo shoot this past fall, but it’s jelling quite nicely (that’s jelling not gelling, you sharp-eyed readers).

I used the following line when discussing eyeglass frames:

If you’re going to be bespeckled, be bespeckled in style.

How clever of me, I thought as I typed that line. Why refer to glasses when I could discuss spectacles?

Wait a minute. “Bespeckled” means “to mark or cover with a large number of small spots or patches of color.”

It does not mean eyeglasses.

Mom, thank goodness, caught that SNAFU.

The line now reads:

If you’re going to be bespectacled, be bespectacled in style.

3 responses to “What a difference a “tac” makes!

  1. Lol about that side note to Barb.

Leave a Reply

