Taking on a reading challenge, with a few twists

With a vague resolution like “reading paper books,” I tightened it up a bit (a lot) with my Goodreads 2015 Reading Challenge: Read 63 books.

Why 63? It has to do with math. And percentages. And weird stuff people who like to read (instead of do accounting) wouldn’t really appreciate. But 63, it is.

When I ran across this cool way at PopSugar to add structure to my goal, I was enamored. Thanks to Rhonda at My Story Saved for sharing it.

popsurgar

I have completed my first book of the year, The Dirty Life by Kristin Kimball, which I’m going to categorize as “a book your mother loves” because my mother lent it to me and all the description of farming reminds me a little bit of my mother’s father, my grandfather. (I’ll review this book, a memoir, on my author blog soon.)

I’m not sure what I’m going to do about “a graphic novel” — that will be an entirely new experience for me. And “a book that takes place in your hometown” might be tricky; I’m the only person I know who’s written about Wadena, Minn. But in these cases and others, maybe I’ll discover wonderful books I might not have otherwise.

Leave a Reply

