You know you like it, too

I love getting presents.

Oh, I like giving gifts, too. I like selecting the unexpected item and seeing delight in the recipient’s face when he opens it.

But I like getting gifts, too. I’m still a kid at heart. (And maybe a dash of a narcissist). Because my birthday falls two days before Christmas, everything I associate with receiving gifts is wrapped up in December and Christmas music and red-and-green paper. It’s fun to open gifts.

I celebrated Christmas with my sister’s family and my parents over the weekend, and between my birthday and Christmas, I got three books, 10 shades of eye shadow, some hi-tech mascara that adds length and volume and a dozen new herbs and spices to outfit my camper. Among other fun things. When we got back home, we discovered deliveries of wine and chocolate. How fun!

And I got to open a dozen Christmas cards tonight. Loved that, too.

And my bonus gift: My mother gave my Beloved a bunch of his favorite Christmas cookies so he told me I didn’t have to make any more. No more holiday baking this year!

Leave a Reply

