Laughter as balm

Well, I did it! I was mortified!

10421968_425148920965767_5576985501201270909_n

I stood in front of a crowd of 250 people last night and read from the diary I kept when I was a teenager. It was full of periods and exclamation points. Actually.

I participated in Mortification Live, a comic excavation of the strange and extraordinary things we created as kids called a “cultural phenomenon” by Newsweek.

I didn’t die. I didn’t turn to stone. I didn’t even blush.

Our emcee and producer Shay DeGrandis called it “personal redemption through public humiliation” and that’s how it was for me: Redeeming.

It proves a point I’ve had to learn a couple of times, most recently when I wrote my memoir and, after much hand wringing, published it. Sharing terrible secrets makes them much less terrible. Most people are a lot kinder (and more authentic) than you might think. Speaking the truth creates the opportunity to put it behind you.

To be honest, I had fun.

People laughed. With me (I’m sure of it).

For those of you who missed the amazing live performance, you might get a chance to hear it. The performance was recorded and will be considered for a podcast.

I’ll keep you apprised. Of course.

4 responses to “Laughter as balm

  1. Congrats! So glad you were able to do this. And, that it was fun!

  2. If they tell on you before you get a chance to tell on yourself… Then it’s not so pretty.

  3. You are such an inspiration Monica! Because of you I gained courage to talk in front of a group. Sorry if I suck some of your energy, but you are an amazing roll model.

Leave a Reply

