Jupiter Return promises big things

It’s a Jupiter Return year for me.  When I turn 48 in a month, I will celebrate what’s known in the astrological world as a Jupiter Return.

You might celebrate a Jupiter Return this year, too. Jupiter takes about 12 years to orbit the sun, thus every 12 years, we circle back to wherever Jupiter was when we were born. Jupiter Returns occur at ages 12, 24, 36, 48, etc.

This milestone year been described to me like the hands of a clock passing 12 — we’re at the top of our game, the beginning of a new cycle. Jupiter comes back and reminds you of the opportunities you need to be looking for and taking and creating. During a Jupiter Return, the universe is trying to hold doors open for you that might otherwise be closed. It’s a year when money flows, especially if you’re aligned with your soul’s calling, according to Molly Hall at About Religion.

Germanic people translated “day of Jupiter” to “Thor’s day” (eventually becoming Thursday). Thor, if cinema can be believed, is a bombastic god of hot air, big plans and big demands; remember, Jupiter is our solar system’s biggest planet. Jupiter expands one’s energy, optimism and self-importance and offers an overflowing cup — we can accept it, reject or drown in it, according to Christine Broadbent at Astrological Healing Alternatives.

It all sounds pretty optimistic except for the drowning part, but I’m a lifeguard so that doesn’t scare me — I’ll just tread water if necessary. Instead of dreading adding another year to my chronological age, maybe I should be excited.

Looking back, I celebrated Jupiter Returns in 1978, 1990 and 2002. I can’t remember a whole lot of abundance in seventh grade but it wasn’t the worst year of school either. I graduated college, got married for the first time and moved four states from home to take my first real job in 1990. Life definitely felt abundant then, until I discovered earning $1,000 a month wasn’t the life of wealth I had envisioned as a poor college student. Still, life was pretty good.

The year 2002 marked the end of a dreadful marital incident (so dreadful, in fact, I wrote a whole book about it), but the hands were definitely crossing 12 in 2002 and I started a new cycle.

My Beloved is a “go big or go home” type of guy who throws lightning bolts around for fun; he’s the perfect partner for a Jupiter Return year. And here’s a fortune I found with my Chinese black bean shrimp not long ago, so pertinent it was that I taped it to my computer:

A bold and dashing adventure
is in your future within the year.

Bring it on.

Leave a Reply

