New straw for the nest makes for better sleep

Ye olde mattress in Minnesota Transplant’s household is nearing the end of its life.

I bought her eight years ago when I moved out of the house I shared with my first husband. I spared no expense buying a new mattress, or at least I thought I did. I now know $1,500 is more the middle of the scale than the top, but she’s held up well. Many a night, I slip into bed and thank God for such a comfortable nest.

But eight years on, she’s getting grooves and looking a little disheveled. My Beloved and I have been shopping twice for a replacement but we haven’t yet found the right one.

two top sheetsIn the meantime, I discovered a cheap and easy way to spruce up the bed: A second top sheet. A representative for Westin Hotels & Resorts suggested this fix in this month’s O Magazine, and at first I was skeptical. But I dug up an old top sheet and added it to the mix, and lo and behold, a second sheet adds a bit of luxury and greater temperature control (which is paramount to menopausal me right now).

Small things matter as evidenced by daily flossing and freshly ground pepper, also both worth the trouble.

Try it. You might like it, too.

(I also got a new pillow, a significantly less expensive upgrade than a new mattress. O Magazine recommends getting a new one every two years.)

2 responses to “New straw for the nest makes for better sleep

  1. That’s an interesting tip! I haven’t tried that. Our latest attempt to make our mattress more comfortable was to buy a memory foam topper… it helps.. a bit.. if you sleep in a different spot each night…

Leave a Reply

