Neglected garden reveals trash and sass

cucsThis is what happens when you neglect your garden for two weeks: Your cucumbers turn into enormous, tasteless, wasteful natural water balloons, only good for smashing against a tree, and your flower boxes burn up to bits.

Tragic, I think.

But on the other side of the house, my flowers are flourishing despite the lack of attention. I discovered this fact this afternoon when the Terminix woman (think: Sigourney Weaver minus the sexy tank top) paid us a visit to rid us of a colony of centipedes in our basement. While poking around the foundation, she discovered an inordinate number of insects taking up residence in the mulch. She called them rolly-polies; only a pest control expert would come up with a pet name for bugs.

In any case, while circumnavigating the house, I noticed my perennials have been enjoying our mild summer. In honor of the rolly-polies (and because I have no idea of their real names), here are the pretty flowers so full of life they are cancelling out my dead flower boxes:

I think these are brown-eyed susans, but I call them brown-eyed Monicas because I have brown eyes.

I think these are brown-eyed susans, but I call them brown-eyed Monicas because I have brown eyes.

I call this yellow mustard because it reminds me of mustard seeds.

I call this yellow mustard because it reminds me of mustard seeds.

These pink petals look like they belong in a vase in a Laura Ashley bedroom.

These pink petals look like they belong in a vase in a Laura Ashley bedroom.

These fuschia wonders are my favorite. Only God would think to dress these beauties in hot pink, burnt orange and green.

These fuchsia wonders are my favorite. Only God would think to dress these beauties in hot pink, burnt orange and green.

2 responses to “Neglected garden reveals trash and sass

  1. Ha! I think roly polies are kinda cool. I also know them as pill bugs.

    Sorry that your garden suffered! You’ve still got some lovely flowers this year.

    I’m tending a garden at work (albeit half heartedly), but I never got around to planting anything on the patio this year..

  2. The flowers you like best are purple coneflowers. The Laura Ashley flowers are phlox. I think the mustard ones might be yarrow. Your flowers are beautiful! God sent you a message; He’s still with you.

Leave a Reply

