‘Careless Whisper’ makes a rocky comeback

While working out together earlier this week, I remarked on some bit of music my Adored stepson chose to get us PUMPED UP (think Hans and Franz), and he said he liked covers. The music was some Godsmack cover (I don’t remember which one, Pink Floyd?), and at almost the same moment, we both said, “Like that old Wham! song, ‘Careless Whisper.’ And with that intro, I bring you the first moment my stepson and I realized we occasionally had the same taste in music:

Minnesota Wonderer

Remember George Michael? The guy from Wham!? (Yeah, Wham! with an exclamation point.) The very poppy band from the 1980s?

I was sitting at the kitchen table doing some work (yes, no rest for the weary, even on a holiday weekend, not when we have a convention coming up in two weeks), and 14-year-old Cas is messing around with his Ipod. With the speaker on. So I can hear it. (I am in the kitchen, after all, not my office.)

And some very guitary strains of a familiar song start playing. And I start singing the words. “I feel so unsure as I take your hand and lead you to the dance floor…”

Cas looks at me like I’m crazy. “You know this song?”

“Um, yeah, I guess. But not like this. This is a remake. I think it’s …” and I wait for the chorus. “Yes, it’s ‘Careless Whisper’!”

“Yeah!”…

View original post 165 more words

Leave a Reply

