How to turn a teenager’s football fantasy into a young man’s cool retreat

The obnoxious orange walls and cartoonish Fatheads are gone.

My Adored stepson’s bedroom decorated in all things Chicago Bears was perfect for a teenager, but I wasn’t so happy with it after he started college last fall.

Yesterday, I shared how I transformed my Adored stepson’s nightstand with paint (missed it? Click here). Today, here’s a look at how his bedroom looks now. (No, I didn’t manage to get any before pictures; I was in that much of a hurry to change it.)

First we painted the very dark blue wall behind the bed in a slightly lighter dark blue, Pittsburgh Paints’ Calvary. The other Chicago Bears blue wall and the two orange walls were covered with Silver Blueberry:

bedroom 1

I like painting the wall behind the bed in a bedroom a different color; it’s sort of like creating a huge headboard for the bed. In this case, the existing headboard needed a coat of paint, too, to transform it from wrought-iron black to white so it popped against the Calvary. The Chicago Bears bedspread, made with love by Caswell’s grandma, will be used to keep him warm, maybe at a brutally cold Bears game. It was replaced with a neutral gray comforter.

bedroom 2

My Adored stepson’s old lamps were black with orange shades, which simply wouldn’t do in the cool room I wanted to evoke visions of “seaside vacation.”

The perfect floor lamp I found was too short, so I used fake books with hidden compartments to boost its height:

bedroom 3

Here’s a close-up:

floor lamp

I found the perfect lamp for the nightstand at, of all places, Menards (“for all your home improvement projects, save big money at Menards”). The body is brushed chrome (to match the nightstand’s new drawer pulls) and the lampshade has “French print” to echo the fake books on the other side of the bed.

bedroom 4

The walls now need all new decorations. The Chicago Bears Fatheads and posters will find a new home in my Beloved garage (aka, man cave). I have grand plans to showcase beautiful things while making a young man feel at home (since Stepson sleeps here most weekends and will be living with us this summer); I’ll share as I complete them.

Ah….

bedroom 5

2 responses to “How to turn a teenager’s football fantasy into a young man’s cool retreat

  1. You are amazing! Thanks for sharing this inspiration. Very cool. You are one talented lady!

  2. Pingback: Fairest mirror on the wall | Minnesota Transplant

Leave a Reply

