Happiness: A moving target

Where are you most happy?

Being outdoors, near the sea, on a warm, sunny weekend afternoon is the perfect spot to experience happiness, according to researchers at the London School of Economics and Political Science.

The study, conducted last year, compiled data from people who used the Mappiness smart phone app. The app beeps users daily to record their levels of happiness and uses global positioning system software to determine their locations.

Even if users weren’t by the sea, those who were in natural environments anywhere reported being happier than those in urban settings. The study also found women and older people appreciated being outside at even higher levels.

No wonder we’ve all been so grumpy this winter. We’ve been cooped up way too long.

Not today though. The skies were clear and the temperatures in the 60s here in northern Illinois. While I would consider myself generally to be an indoors girl, I appreciate nature more as I age. I so enjoy being able to run outside or to take my dog for a walk, and I am so happy to see the grass in my yard turning green.

Today, we hired some energetic boys to apply mulch in strategic places in the yard. I, meanwhile, started a new furniture makeover project in the garage (with the door open). I think I’ve found a new hobby! The process of applying paint to beat-up furnishings is oddly satisfying (I’ll share the results of my work next week).

Wherever you are, here’s wishing you happiness.

2 responses to “Happiness: A moving target

  1. Looking forward to seeing the finished furniture project!

Leave a Reply

