Every cloud has a silver lining

I’m trying to count my blessings.

I mean, the snow in northern Illinois did melt today.

Wednesdays are garbage days around here, the days to get the trash and recycling containers to the curb for early Thursday morning attention from the trash collectors. I hate crushing boxes, but we have so many boxes every week, they have to be crushed in order to fit them all into the can! So I remind myself what a blessing it is to have so many boxes in the first place.

I hate grocery shopping. At a minimum, it’s a two-hour commitment because my supermarkets of choice are 30 minutes away. Today, it was a three-hour commitment because I stopped at the butcher, the baker and the candlestick maker. Between picking up dog food and buying four kinds of bread at the grocery store I also stopped at Victoria’s Secret, and I got six pair of underwear for $7.78! Rocked those Secret Rewards, Angel Rewards and coupons in the mail! Awesome! Picking up a treat for me makes grocery shopping better.

Last night’s supper was an epic fail. The lemon sauce was … too tart. My Beloved asked for “normal food” for supper tonight, so I went with pork chops. Pork chops are pretty much as normal as you can get (only chicken gets more points for “normal”; thanks to the butcher, we’ll have that later this week). The experimental cook in me chafes at normal. So I couldn’t summon the will to make mashed potatoes. We had extra-thick grilled pork chops on a bed of polenta, topped with roasted cherry tomatoes. And it was delicious.

My dog jumped off my bed at 6 a.m. this morning. That’s not an unreasonable time to get up, but it’s earlier than I would normally choose. But this is big news! My dog jumped off the bed! For the first time in a week! Last Wednesday, she was having terrible seizures. Last Thursday, I feared we’d have to put her down. But she has gotten progressively better since came home Friday from the doggy hospital, and I’m cautiously optimistic that we can successfully fight her epilepsy while preserving her perky personality.

My typical Wednesday also included an effective early-morning workout (thanks to the 6 a.m. wake-up call), time to work on my manuscript in progress, a call from my dad and an episode of “Survivor.”

Counting blessings.

2 responses to “Every cloud has a silver lining

  1. It’s all about perspective….your snow looks great compared to the 10 or snow inches that fell,at my house today…yuck!

  2. Yes, it is all about perspective. Look, it IS moisture for the garden and for the grass to come. A glass half full always tastes better than one half empty. Happy Easter! He is RISEN!

Leave a Reply

