Tarnish on the silver isn’t forever: Here’s how to remove it in 5 minutes

“No, I didn’t say that I’m flawless, but I damn sure don’t tarnish.”

~ Lil Wayne

Well, I don’t iron (that’s what wrinkle-free fabrics are for). I don’t scrub the kitchen floor on my hands and knees (thank goodness for my Swiffer). And I normally don’t bother to remove tarnish (because I don’t own a silver set). But I found a great trick that felt more like a science experiment than housework, and it might help you, too.

ring before

I have this ring, see. It’s quite lovely, inscribed on the outside with “Preserve, Enrich, Inspire,” and it apparently it made of silver or is silver-plated. I dug it out intending to wear it, but it was so badly tarnished, it was embarrassing.

Thanks to Google, I found this recipe:

Place a sheet of aluminum foil in the bottom of a pan, add 2-3 inches of water, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1 teaspoon salt, and bring to a boil. Add silver pieces, boil 2-3 minutes, making sure the water covers the silver pieces. Remove silver, rinse, dry, and buff with a soft cloth.

I boiled the ring for 5 minutes, but it works!

ring after

Traditional scrapbookers might recognize the words on this ring as part of Creative Memories’ mission “to preserve the past, enrich the present and inspire hope for the future.” It is, indeed, a ring I received while working for Creative Memories when it proclaimed this mission. Inside, the ring is inscribed with “CM celebrating 20 years.”

The tarnish, I think, was symbolic. But with the right ingredients and a little elbow grease, the shine returned.

One response to “Tarnish on the silver isn’t forever: Here’s how to remove it in 5 minutes

  1. The tarnish was symbolic. Great thought. I’ll carry that around with me, today!
    And the recipe, Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

