Creative type? No need to apply

I am constantly amazed at the general lack of creativity in the insurance world.

Some companies get a pass here: AfQuack, CuteLizard and FloInAUniform are actually clever characters selling the world’s most boring product. Everyone else? Meh.

My day today was filled with ADPD applications. Don’t ask. Knowing what the abbreviation stands for doesn’t make it more interesting.

My Beloved, being an independent agent, has access to all kinds of insurance carriers and sends his clients’ insurance packages out to a lot of companies in order to acquire the best pricing and save clients’ money. But naturally, every ADPD carrier demands the use of their own exclusive application form. Completing one of these applications requires liberal use of a calculator and Advil. No cutting and pasting allowed.

The boring forms flow from boring marketing, me thinks. The lack in creativity in company names does nothing for me. I’m a big fan of firms like Google and Starbucks. What is this, to google? What is a starbuck? They were nothing until Google and Starbucks made them something. They could have called themselves Big Search and Coffee Station, but that’s boring. Instead, they forged new ground.

But insurance companies? Noooooo. Combine any version of “risk,” “guard,” “point,” “core” or “dealer”  and there’s a company with that name offering ADPD coverage. No Shazzam or Whoopsie Insurance Companies here, no sirree.

So that was my day: Insurance application forms. Oh, and I got my “fit” number at Snap Fitness, an equally depressing exercise (emphasis on “exercise,” if you know what I mean).

But, and here’s the big but: I got a creative blog post out of it.

That’s something.

2 responses to “Creative type? No need to apply

  1. Ooh! Snap Fitness 😀 Maybe you could be a fitness blogger now 😉 [join us! joiiiinnnn us!]

  2. Perhaps you should rename your husband’s company Whoopsie Woosley Insurance. It has a certain ring to it I think. I got a nice chuckle out of this blog, which I needed on this chilly winter day.

Leave a Reply

