Shovel required for this labor of love

If your legs are only 4 inches long, 5 inches of snow really is Snowmageddon.

Beginning

Beginning

This is what my sweet little miniature schnauzer could have faced this morning: Five inches of snow-covered deck steps between the house and her potty territory in the yard.

The first few days of the new year have been brutal here in Northern Illinois. It snowed Wednesday, it got cold Thursday, it was so windy Friday I thought the house would blow away and it snowed again Saturday. We’re supposed to get more snow today, and tomorrow is supposed to be so life-threateningly cold, schools across the region are closed. Mr. 2014 smiles one of those cheesy smiles while extending his hand in a crusher handshake. “Hi, how ya doin’, tough guy.” I already don’t like this bozo.

Neither does my poor pooch. The Great Outdoors isn’t so great when you have to pee in a blizzard.

When I’m lazy and I neglect shoveling the steps, my sweet dog pisses on the deck. Since that’s less than optimal, clearing the steps is how I began my day today.

See her? At the top of the shoveled steps? In her cute little red sweater? That's my barky little girl! Come to momma. Good girl!

See her? At the top of the shoveled steps? In her cute little red sweater? That’s my barky little girl! Come to momma. Good girl!

Yes, I also shoveled a little of the yard, too, because I love my dog that way.

12 responses to “Shovel required for this labor of love

  1. I think I’ve talked my husband into watching NIT, tonight. Again. (7th viewing!) We have NO precip, here, but temp in the teens and lotsa wind. I’m talkin’ Deep South, here!
    “Cold-ER? It gets cold-ER?” 😉

  2. AHHHH…this brought back frigid memories of mega snow storms dumping piles of the white stuff on our back deck in Sussex County, NJ, as we shoveled to get to our dog’s pen in our backyard!! Ya do what ya gotta do!!

    And we had to move to FL! Amen! And Hallelujah!!

    • No snow, maybe, but how about cockroaches? Ever have wrangle with a cockroach in Florida?

      • Ahhhh…yes, but in polite Floridian language they’re called “Palmetto Bugs!” Wonder if the people in Palmetto, FL like that!!!

        But,at the police station in East Orange, NJ, my husband and his pals had contests called “Roach of the Day” where they’d tack up the largest cockroach on the bulletin board!! Gross!!

        I don’t like them any better down here in FL, even with the fancy name, but better to wrangle with them, than our golf course buddies, the alligators!!

        And of course we have hurricanes…so where can you go where everything is always hassle-free????

        Enjoy your snow…and pray for spring!!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning | Stefan Praetorius Naurin

  5. As we say in MN: “Oh fer kyoot!” 😀 (cute)

  6. Pingback: Beginning #photography #newyear #nature | Moondustwriter's Blog

  7. Nice! It looks a lot like that around here right now, too. I’ve included your post as a related article on my own weekly photo challenge post. Hope you don’t mind. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning « Tina Pumfrey

Leave a Reply

