What’s in a name

I am sorry to report I have a fad name.

I learned this fact thanks to Why But Wait’s “How to Name a Baby” post, which directed me to The Baby Name Wizard’s NameVoyager Tool. Type a name (or even a few letters of a name) and learn all kinds of things about it, including the popularity of the name since 1880s.

At its height, Monica was the 86th most popular name for girls in the 1960s.

MonicaGraph

That’s me. Thinking I’m special when in fact, I’m simply another lemming.

Monica was on its way out anyway, but blue-cocktail-dress-wearing Monica Lewinsky and her affair with the president of the United States sealed the deal for its demise. It’s now the 406th most popular name for girls and dropping. (Type in Adolph or Napoleon, though, to see what infamy does for a name.)

Names that spike the popularity graph like this are considered fads (think: Jennifer).

According to a survey on the site, Monica leans toward sounding smart, sexy and sophisticated, but it’s less young sounding (because it’s on its way out, duh; someday soon, the only Monicas you know will be old ladies, alas).

Check it out with your name (or, if you’re pregnant, your favorite potential names).

6 responses to “What’s in a name

  1. This was so fun! My name was very unpopular in the late 60’s when my parents gave it to me. They liked it because it was “different”. I liked it growing up because I was the only Courtney wherever I went. My name reached its peak in the early 90’s and has gone downhill since then. According to the site, my name is friendly, sexy, and smart…and I totally agree with that! 🙂

  2. I am amazed at all the ideas you have for your blog. This one is fun. I am looking forward to when you come to MN for the Community Ed class, I am hoping to sign up and hear your words of wisdom. I would like to get back to blogging and sharing the ideas that are always floating around in my head.

  3. How fun 😀 I have a fad name, too, and there were 5 of us in my home room class. Oi vey!

  4. Pronounce it Moan-i-ca ( I know someone who does) and you’ll be special.

Leave a Reply

