My 2013 in review

An acquaintance on Facebook mentioned that instead of making a list of resolutions, she intended to list the lessons she’s learned in 2013, events that made a difference in her life, sweet things people said and nice moments she doesn’t want to forget.

I like that idea (though I’ll probably make a list of resolutions, too — one of which is to create a blog schedule), and I’ll add an annual report for my blog.

Lessons I’ve learned in 2013
  1. Luck and timing have a lot more to do with success than effort. Cynical perhaps, but true. I was lucky this year.
  2. No amount of good living can assuage menopause and hot flashes.
  3. The best way to get something done: Focus.
Events that made a difference in my life
  • My Adored stepson graduated from high school. Though I had almost nothing to do with it except for editing a few papers, I am immensely proud of him and irrationally relieved. Bonus: We threw him a great graduation party.
  • One of my former employers declared bankruptcy for a second time. This shocking development saddened me (because I had friends who still worked there) but also provided me with a great deal of entertainment because the company’s demise was both prolonged and strange.
  • My father decided it was time to build a bookcase for me. This prompted me to finally paint and redecorate my home office, which is now a beautiful place for the incubation of ideas.
Sweet things people said

I know people said sweet things to me, especially during my book tour to my home town in April and after my mother-in-law’s 70th birthday party (which I played a large part in organizing), but honestly, I can’t remember the details. Because of the aforementioned hot flashes, I consciously attempted to wipe all details of my day from my mind as I fell asleep every night so I wouldn’t ruminate on them to the point of keeping me awake. So while I know people said sweet things, including 5-star reviews of my memoir and more thoughtful comments here on my blog than I can link to, I can’t recount them here. It was a sweet year.

Nice moments I don’t want to forget
  • Whiling away a lazy Sunday afternoon eating homemade cilantro dip and drinking Coronas on the deck of a South Padre Island bar in February.
  • When my stepson and my mother-in-law looked at the beautiful albums I made for them for the first time.
  • Participating with 50 other authors at an author fair in Aurora, Ill.
  • Brainstorming with an energetic new colleague on a 2014 project.
  • How great my office looked when I finally moved all the books back onto the new bookshelves.
  • Quiet moments with my Beloved too numerable to mention.

And finally, the WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2013 annual report for this blog.

Here are a few excerpts:

  • The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 23,000 times in 2013. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 9 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.
  • In 2013, there were 286 new posts (about 5.5 a week), growing the total archive of this blog to 1,542 posts.
  • The busiest day of the year was January 21st with 217 views. The most popular entry posted that day was The intersection of ‘a good leader’ and ‘what I’d like to see in a leader.’

Thank you, dear readers, for allowing me to occupy a small part of your important brain space this year. I appreciate you!

3 responses to “My 2013 in review

  1. So much can happen in just a year, can’t it? Thanks for your wonderful writing! May 2014 bring even more happiness and goodness to you! xoxo

  2. This is a wonderful reflection 🙂 One thing I started last year and didn’t finish was to write one thankful thing/day in my calendar. It was really nice while I was doing it because it helped me to focus on the good things instead of any bad things.

    • This is a brilliant idea, actually. My blog is a little slice of life every day, but gratitude journal is a great idea.

Leave a Reply

