A year in books at Minnesota Transplant’s house

With millions of books to read and more being published every day, I thought it bold to resolve to read 52 books in 2013. That’s only a book a week, after all, and even at that pace, I would barely scratch the surface of a pimple on the face of all that’s possible to read in a year.

But I couldn’t manage even that.

I read 33 books in 2013 (I keep track of such things on Goodreads, which I recommend for anyone who enjoys reading).

Surprisingly, the average reader on Goodreads pledged to read 57 books this year. Wow! I’m such a slacker. I’m aware of one prominent online book reviewer who claims to have read 510 books this year (seriously? A book and a half a day?); maybe it’s outliers like her who skew the averages.

In any case, perhaps I shall resolve to read 57 books in 2014. But today, I’m sharing the list of books I read in 2013. I’ve noted the ones that earned 5-star reviews from me, marked the titles that are self-published (because as a self-published author myself, I like to call attention to such things) and provided links to my reviews (you know, if you’re looking for some good reads yourself in 2014).

Nonfiction

The Wilder Life: My Adventures in the Lost World of Little House on the Prairie by Wendy McClure

***** Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson

***** Save the Cat! The Last Book on Screenwriting You’ll Ever Need by Blake Snyder

Bossypants by Tina Fey

The New Members’ Handbook for the Christian Believer by Sonya Privette-James (self-published)

***** Gabby: A Story of Courage and Hope by Gabrielle Giffords and Mark Kelly

Letters From Mom: A Daughter’s Journal of Healing by Joyce Madeline Kocinski (self-published)

***** The Harlot by the Side of the Road: Forbidden Tales of the Bible by Jonathan Kirsch

It’s Not Me, It’s You: Subjective Recollections from a Terminally Optimistic, Chronically Sarcastic and Occasionally Inebriated Woman by Stefanie Wilder-Taylor

The Simplesizing Break by Jane Carroo (self-published)

***** Same Kind of Different as Me by Ron Hall

***** A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose by Eckhart Tolle

A Woman of Science: An Extraordinary Journey of Love, Discovery and the Sex Life of Mushrooms by Cardy Raper

The Omni Diet: Two Weeks to Lose Weight, Reverse Illness and Control Your Genes by Tana Amen

Your 14-Day Total Shape-Up Plan by Annette Capone

***** Expect This by Heather Slee (self-published)

Mile Markers: The 26.2 Most Important Reasons Women Run by Kristin Armstrong

Walking Toward the Light: A Journey in Forgiveness and Death by Karen Todd Scarpulla (self-published)

***** On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King

***** The Liar’s Club: A Memoir by Mary Karr

Fiction

Passion Killer by Yvonne McEvaddy (self-published)

The View from Mount Joy by Lorna Landvik

***** The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Butter by Anne Panning

The Pale King by David Foster Wallace

Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons by Lorna Landvik

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Home Wrecker: Shattered Reality by Brenda Perlin (self-published)

Giving Up the Ghost by Mary Logue

Finding Summerland by Paige Bleu (self-published)

The Avalon Ladies Scrapbooking Society by Darien Gee

***** The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

This Broken Earth by Roger Colby (self-published)

4 responses to “A year in books at Minnesota Transplant’s house

  1. surprised you gave Night Circus 5 stars. I struggled to get through the book. Felt it was too contrived.

  2. Love the 52 books thing. I think I’ll make that my goal for 2014. Five years ago I wouldn’t have had to set such a goal – I probably read twice that many every year. Curse you, Internet.

  3. Were you also writing your own book too? In 2013, I opened myself up to new and different genres but found, that I do still really like the same books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

