Alas, how dreary would be the world

Today was one of those pre-Christmas days.

You know the ones. The dreaded ones revolving around crowds and standing in line.

Today, I spent many hours and many dollars shopping.

I wasn’t shopping for pop guns. Or bicycles. Roller Skates. Drums.

Checkerboards. Tricycles. No, I was shopping for popcorn. And plums!

Today was the day of the cringe-worthy pre-Christmas grocery trip.

To be honest, the shopping was the easy part. Finding a place to store all the popcorn and plums when I got home was the hard part.

But I am thinking of this little gem I wrote a year ago. I came face to face with the joy of anticipation that comes in the days before Christmas, and I was reminded that the spirit of the holiday isn’t in Who-hash or roast beast, but in the hearts of men (and women).

Jolly ol’ elf brightens Christmas countdown

Part of the joy of Christmas is the waiting. It’s the time at night when a pile of wrapped gifts sits under a sparkly Christmas tree. It’s the stolen taste of cookie dough before the cookies are baked. And it’s the writing of the letter to Santa as much as it’s his momentous visit on Christmas Eve.

I got to relive one of those moments this morning when I arrived for breakfast at the hotel where we stayed last night to avoid driving through the snowstorm that hit Madison, Wis., yesterday. There, sitting at one of the breakfast tables was … Read more of this post

Leave a Reply

