Is this what you get when you bake while it rains?

While whipping up a carrot cake today in of my nephew for his birthday, I thought of this cake disaster I created a couple of years ago. Fortunately, today’s cake turned out perfectly. Which proves Minnesota Transplant can follow baking directions at least some of the time.

Minnesota Wonderer

Is this what Crusty Pound Cake is SUPPOSED to look like?

Someone left a cake out in the rain.

I don’t think that I can take it

‘Cause it took so long to bake it,

And I’ll never have that recipe again.

Diva Donna Summer might not have that recipe again, but in my case, I’ll never use that recipe again.

I tried making Crusty Cream Cheese Pound Cake for Tyler’s birthday today. I found the recipe in a Fort Wayne, Ind., newspaper story (click here for it).

It calls for two sticks of butter, 8 ounces of cream cheese and six eggs. I figured it would be an appropriately decadent dessert for a man who thinks breakfast isn’t complete unless you have two kinds of breakfast meats plus fried eggs.

As the rain fell outside while Tyler went to his birthday back massage, I leveled and creamed and mixed and poured. I didn’t have the “tube pan” as called for, so…

View original post 253 more words

2 responses to “Is this what you get when you bake while it rains?

  1. The key to baking (says the long time baker) is to have ALL ingredients at room temperature (usually an hour + depending on the weather) before you start your creation. Cheesecake is especially tempermental and my guess is that is part of the problem! The other part could be the recipe, overmixing or any of a host of excuses/reasons!

Leave a Reply

