The power of the hex head wrench

Not sure what a hex head wrench is? Otherwise known as an Allen wrench or Allen key?

hex head wrenchThen you haven’t put together any build-it-yourself furniture lately.

My Beloved has a garage full of tools of every size and type, flavor and color, but I assembled my new desk and chair all by myself with this little powerhouse. And a few grunts and groans. (OK, I used a Phillips screwdriver for fewer than a dozen screws, but that fact messes up my ode.)

Too often we cruise through our day without the proper respect for uncomplicated tools like can openers, pencils and puffy shower sponges. The simple hex head wrench helped me connect strange pieces and parts into, lo and behold, a comfy swirling, twirling office chair and a glass desk any design minimalist would love.

In the vein of this week’s theme of before-and-after photos (missed the previous entries in the office redecorating project? click herehere and here), here’s my desk area before, a perfectly functional dark wood desk and black office chair:

desk doorway before

And here’s the after:

desk doorway after

To be clear for copycats out there, my desk is actually TWO desks. The design offers a corner connector, but I didn’t want my desk to be that long on the side. And see that cigar box under my monitor? Phfft, that needs to go. I’m thinking maybe glass block; a trip to Menards is in store.

At least one online source confirms glass is an excellent symbol for career in feng shui (also, the position of my desk prevents invaders from entering the room and stabbing me in the back, which would be very, very bad feng shui). But probably my wisest decision for creating flow in my new office design was the one to remove the chaise lounge. That lounge chair, also known affectionately in our family as the therapy couch, served as a useful resting place for my Adored stepson when he was living with us a junior high school student. He spent many afternoons after school recounting his day and soaking up my attention and advice. But the chair was too big to keep (and the Adored stepson is now a college student who still soaks up my attention and advice, but far less frequently).

Thank you, hex head wrench, for the power you represent (and it’s pretty much disposable, too — a new one comes with every home assembly project).

Appreciating ingenious simplicity, indeed.

4 responses to “The power of the hex head wrench

  1. My hands will never be the same after putting together what seemed like an entire IKEA warehouse of furniture, with various sizes of the hex head wrench. I’m sure there are many others around the world with the same experience. 🙂
    Best wishes from Brisbane, Australia

    • I know what you mean, but worse for me was all the packaging! Those glass plates required A LOT of styrofoam and cardboard.

  2. That came in very handy with my futon, like this post….tools aren’t just for the MEN! LOL!

  3. IKEA wouldn’t even be in business without that little gadget!

Leave a Reply

