How do I love thee, kale, let me count the ways

All Things Considered on National Public Radio spent a good 8 minutes this afternoon singing the praises of kale, including a recipe for Kale Salad with Pecorino and Walnuts.

kale and rhubarbYes, kale. The leafy green vegetable.

Who knew?

Minnesota Transplant is on trend!

Kale is growing profusely in my garden, and I’ve been eating it at every opportunity this summer. It turns out kale is one of the world’s healthiest foods (whfoods.com), high in vitamins K, A and C and a bunch of other nutrients. It’s high in fiber and even has protein!

I thought kale had to be sautéed to be edible, but it turns out to make a hearty salad. I like a kale salad dressed with lemon and olive oil and topped with soft-cooked eggs. Substitute kale in any salad that calls for spinach.

Last night, I served a tortellini-zucchini medley over a bed of fresh kale (and I ate the leftovers at lunch today).

I don’t recommend using kale in your smoothies, however. I tried that, too. Yuck.

All hail, kale!

4 responses to “How do I love thee, kale, let me count the ways

  1. I actually like kale and apple and banana and a little water blended up if I’m doing a “smoothie” – but wouldn’t put yogurt or protein powder in it.

  2. I had kale in one of my smoothies. Ugh! Swore off smoothies for a couple of hours. Great source of vitamins. We include it in our salads. Tastes better this way. Blessings.

  3. So, when I tried kale raw, I don’t remember the flavor notes, but I remembered not liking it at all. Now I managed to take a bunch home from a CSA. I was going to make a hearty stew with it, but now you’ve got me thinking……. what does Raw Kale taste like??

    • I think the dressing matters. I like kale with a lemon juice-oil dressing (it can even be dressed and sit a day). And, of course toasted walnuts and cheese doesn’t hurt a salad.

Leave a Reply

