Shampoo is so yesterday; now is WEN

When you run into a WEN devotee, you’ll know it. Compliment her on her hair, and before you know it, you’ll be throwing out whatever overhyped “soap” with which you’ve been supposedly “washing” your hair and trying Wen’s product on your own tresses.

wenI know of which I speak. It happened to me. I met a WEN user, I complimented her hair, and now WEN is in my shower, too.

The land of WEN is a no-shampoo zone. WEN is a “cleansing conditioner” (five products in one, to be accurate: shampoo, conditioner, deep conditioner, detangler and leave-in conditioner). It is a “combination of natural extracts and botanicals to hydrate and cleanse your hair without the use of harsh detergents and chemicals.”

I was a little predisposed to the WEN message after hearing a news story about the no-shampoo movement. I even wrote a blog post about it, scoffing a little bit about how greasy is green.

But I’m also a bit skeptical of all things Proctor & Gamble. We are not nearly as stinky, unclean and covered in bacteria as the those companies making profits on our insecurities would have us believe.

So two weeks ago, I gave WEN a try (thanks Kathi and Marilyn for your ardent testimonials). My hair stylist (herself a seller of hair products with “harsh chemicals and detergents”) said she’s seen hair color last longer with WEN users.

It’s weird stuff. If you insist on having lots of lather, don’t look here. WEN feels like conditioner, and all instructions demand liberal use of the product. Once you get past that, it feels great to massage your own scalp, and combing out your wet hair is a cinch. Once dry, my hair feels clean and sports plenty of volume. It stays clean, too. I’m still washing my hair every other day, just as I was before. I have more volume on the off days than before.

If you’re fed up with your current hair routine, WEN is worth a try. If not now, WEN?

3 responses to “Shampoo is so yesterday; now is WEN

  1. This product is following me around! I’ve been on the fence to try this out but I’ve been seeing reviews for it everywhere!
    Thanks for sharing 🙂
    http://www.lifeofksong.com

  2. Very interesting…your post makes me want to give this a try. I’ll let you know if/when I do and what I think! Your hair is always fab!

  3. Pingback: Mas Paborito | Wen Cleansing Conditioner

Leave a Reply

