Guilty pleasure

You can’t pick up a book titled “Home Wrecker I: The Chronicles” without finding a little infidelity and drama, and author Brenda Perlin delivers it was gusto and verve.

homewrecker“Home Wrecker I” tells the story of Brooklyn, a woman presented with the difficult choice of remaining loyal and lukewarm or following her heart for love and passion. Here’s the summary of her life and philosophy Brooklyn provides at the beginning of “Home Wrecker I”:

“Throughout my life, I’ve had many disappointments, survived many losses and had more than my share of sorrow. I had my expectations crushed repeatedly, yet I was still optimistic and believed there were good things to come.”

Perlin creates a compelling if not sympathetic character in Brooklyn. I felt like I was reading the private diary of one of the housewives of Orange County. Written in first person and set in southern California, this book is filed in fiction but reads more like a memoir.

The first half meanders along a bit as Brooklyn describes her early life. This is necessary back story, but it becomes a little labored. The narrative picks up in the second half when Brooke meets Bo and, unfortunately, Bo’s soon-to-be ex-wife. Much of the second half of the book reads like a legal drama, and I devoured the last 40% in a single afternoon.

I actually began reading “Home Wrecker” when it was published with a different publisher who jacked Perlin around by setting the price at such a ridiculous level, no one would ever buy it and she would never earn a dime of royalty, so I’m glad her work has found a home with Master Koda Select Publishing. You can now find “Home Wrecker I: The Chronicles” on Amazon for 99 cents, and Prime members can borrow it for free. Can’t beat that deal.

One response to “Guilty pleasure

  1. Brenda Perlin

    Thank you Monica for taking the time to leave such an honest and thoughtful review of Home Wrecker I. I really appreciate your input and taking the time to do a review.

Leave a Reply

