My science fiction reach exceeds my grasp (of great literature)

“He tasks me. He tasks me and I shall have him! I’ll chase him ’round the moons of Nibia and ’round the Antares Maelstrom and ’round Perdition’s flames before I give him up!”

~ Khan in “Star Trek: Wrath of Khan”

It is sad that I fancy myself a bibliophile and yet I had to look up this quote from “Star Trek: Wrath of Khan” to figure out its origin. It’s a direct quote — other than the substitution of astronomical terms — for a passage from Herman Melville’s “Moby Dick,” which I will confess, I haven’t read. But I should.

 As long as I’m confessing, I’ll confess this: Based only on Trekkie rumor and speculation in the blogosphere, I watched “Space Seed,” the episode from the original “Star Trek” TV series introducing Ricardo Montalban as Khan Noonien Singh, and “Star Trek: Wrath of Khan,” the second feature-length “Star Trek” movie, in preparation for this past weekend’s viewing of “Star Trek” Into Darkness.”

Yes, I’m that much of a Trekker nerd.

SPOILER ALERT (if you haven’t seen the new movie yet and you want to be surprised, avert your eyes RIGHT NOW): Rumor and speculation were right: The likely villain to be reincarnated in the “Star Trek” reboot was indeed brought back to life by actor Benedict Cumberbatch.

And he was awesome! Well, he was no Ricardo Montalban, but still, bold. I’ll share my review of the new movie here tomorrow.

“It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring.”

~ Carl Sagan

One response to “My science fiction reach exceeds my grasp (of great literature)

  1. I loved the new ST movie, it was so so good!
    Xo,
    Z
    http://beingzhenya.com

Leave a Reply

