EQ ain’t all it’s cracked up to be

I spent the day filling out insurance forms, and I can assure you, I have nothing interesting about that experience to share with you. But in other matters, I was reminded today of this old post from 2010 and so I’m closing out the work week with it. Bring on red wine.

Minnesota Wonderer

A manager once told me I lacked emotional intelligence.

Emotional intelligence, for those who you who don’t have an MBA and a penchant for case studies, is the ability to manage one’s emotions in a healthy and productive manner. It is based on the notion that the ability of managers to understand their own emotions, and those of the people they work with, is the key to better business performance.

At the time, I took this advice to heart and read the book, “Emotional Intelligence at Work.” It wasn’t the worst book in the world … I mean, it was better than that awful business fable, “Who Stole My Cheese.” But not much. I read the book not because I agreed with this manager but because I thought it would be good for my career. It didn’t help my career at all. But it helped author Hendrie Weisinger’s career.

Turns out, this…

View original post 103 more words

Leave a Reply

