Old Man Winter has overstayed his welcome in Central Minnesota

20130406-195630.jpg

Minnesota, the state where the water is still frozen solid on April 6, and I’m not talking about the frozen margaritas.

I took this shot of the Mississippi River in Little Falls this afternoon. My father tells me other parts of the river not behind a dam are open, and in fact, he’s planning to do some open water fishing next week (equipped with mittens, no doubt).

20130406-200703.jpg

Here’s a look at my parents’ yard at dusk tonight (at least dusk lasts until 8 p.m. this time of year). Dad, who’s lived in Minnesota all his life and turned 70 last month, says he’s never seen this much snow on the ground on April 6.

I admire the endurance of Minnesotans who not only persevere through this kind of winter but actually enjoy it.

But I’m so glad I’m no longer among them.

2 responses to “Old Man Winter has overstayed his welcome in Central Minnesota

  1. I was just in Little Falls for Easter with my brother. Cute little restaurant there for brunch. We are definitely over winter….just wish it were over with us.

    • The Black & White Hamburger Shop? I ate lunch there, and it might be described as “cute.”

      I know spring will arrive eventually. Apparently, she has her own timeframe this year.

Leave a Reply

