She’s got mad skillz

“You know about fixing cars, you’re athletic, and you know when to shut up.”

“That last one isn’t a skill.”

“Trust me. It’s a skill.”

~ Simone Elkeles in “Rules of Attraction”

Driving a stick is like riding a bike: You never forget.

Due to circumstances beyond my control, I had to drive Adored Stepson’s car halfway into the city today. He’s got a car with more power than I would ever want to use. And six speeds.

I haven’t used a manual transmission in more than a decade, but I managed to avoid killing it or grinding the gears (much — just kidding, Caswell!), so I guess I proved an old lady can drive a high performance vehicle like an old lady.

I got it back home in one piece. Though I wished I had worn ear plugs. Apparently, old ladies don’t like impressively noisy exhaust systems as much as 18-year-olds.

3 responses to “She’s got mad skillz

  1. I’m impressed. I learned how to drive on a stick but I can’t do it anymore.

    • Have you tried? I didn’t think I could either, but it came back to me. This morning, when I was driving an automatic, I tried to change gears (so unconscious are my skills!).

  2. Lol!! That’s hilarious. Great post!

Leave a Reply

