DIY salad jazzes up lunchtime

When I’m trying to eat right, I eat a salad for lunch.

That’s Rule No. 2. Rule No. 1 is fruit and eggs for breakfast. Rule No. 3: Everything in moderation the rest of the day.

Those are my diet story, and I’m stickin’ to it.

In any case, a salad for lunch every day gets boring if your only choices are chicken Caesar and chef salad. So I collect salad recipes, and I build crazy combinations around whatever leftover protein I have on hand. Here’s the DIY version of a tasty salad:

  • Protein: Chicken, ham, tuna or beans of any sort.
  • Greens: Romaine is my go-to green.
  • Chopped vegetables for flavor and color: Green onions, cherry tomatoes and cucumber get into almost every salad I prepare, but carrots, peppers, celery and fresh herbs like parsley or mint are nice, too.
  • Cheese: Try parmesan, feta or mozzarella. Avocado is a good-fat alternative to cheese.
  • Something sweet: Some kind of fruit like dried cranberries, grapes or oranges adds a flavorful counterpoint, but sun-dried tomatoes or a dash of sugar in the dressing is nice, too.
  • Something crunchy: Pepitoes are my favorite, but croutons, nuts or corn chips add texture, too.

When you’re looking for a particularly hearty salad, a whole grain carbohydrate is a good addition. I love quinoa.

I made a delicious lentil and barley salad earlier this week, but today’s protein to build around was barbecued pulled pork. My Beloved can eat only so many pulled pork sandwiches, and I can’t bear to throw away what’s left. WordPress’s Photo Challenge this week is “Lunchtime” so I’m sharing it with you.

lunchtime

Pulled Pork Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • A dash of each: Ginger, allspice, salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup or so of last night’s barbecue pulled pork
  • A couple of cups shredded romaine
  • 1/3 cucumber, peeled and sliced
  • 1 green onion, sliced
  • Fresh cilantro leaves
  • Pickled baby corn, sliced
  • A canned peach half, chopped
  • About 10 roasted almonds, chopped

Preparation:

  1. Stir together dressing: Vinegar, oil and spices.
  2. Assemble romaine, vegetables and peach on plate. Top with dressing.
  3. Warm up pulled pork in the microwave (about 45 seconds on high), and arrange on salad.
  4. Top with almonds.
  5. Eat and feel virtuous.
4 responses to “DIY salad jazzes up lunchtime

  1. This is my kind of salad. It sure looks delicious.

  2. Pingback: Chopped Barbecue Chicken Salad Recipe Lightened Up | Nosh My Way

  3. Pingback: Sunomono Salad | LauraLovingLife

  4. Pingback: Farmer's Salad Recipe | Nosh My Way

Leave a Reply

