Short and sweet, new ebook signals love is in the air

Readers of Minnesota Transplant come from far and wide to enjoy bits of humor, diary entries and occasionally useful information here, and today we have a taste of romance.

Yes, it’s time for some shameless self-promotion.

cover shot“8 Slices of Cake,” a romance anthology to which I contributed, is now available for your reading pleasure. The e-book is a great fiction alternative to reading book reviews, recipes and weather reports here on Minnesota Transplant.

Just in time for Valentine’s Day, the book features short stories of fun, romance and the redemptive power of love, all tied to a theme: The fictional couple Michael and Ava are getting married, and all the stories recount experiences of different guests at the reception, dining on pieces of Michael and Ava’s magnificent 8-tier wedding cake. As a bonus, the e-book includes recipes for all eight kinds of cake, including Strawberry Margarita Cake (my personal favorite).

I was among eight international authors who contributed to the work, and it’s interesting to see how the stories tie together.

My story is about a divorcée named Hope and her Aunt Georgia, married to Hope’s favorite uncle, Rufus. Here’s a snippet:

Uncle Rufus was Hope’s favorite uncle, her mother’s thrice-married brother. An unconventional academic who taught creative writing at a university, he was the sort of uncle who thought deeply, laughed often and always was willing to speak the truth.

“What? A wedding hard to take? I love weddings,” Rufus said.

“Obviously,” Hope said, opening her eyes wide.

“You’re not thinking of following in my footsteps, are you? Course, I’m pretty happy now with your Auntie Georgia.”

“Good, third time’s the charm then,” Hope said.

“8 Slices of Cake” is available as an e-book for only $1.99 through Smashwords, a popular distributor of self-published books.

Fans of Kindle, Nook, iBooks, Kobo or any of a half dozen other e-readers can download books at Smashwords to enjoy on your favorite device. Click here for those instructions. You can even get a PDF to read right on your computer.

If you’re interested in following news about “8 Slices of Cake,” “like” the Facebook page for the book here.

Click here for more details on “8 Slices of Cake,” and enjoy!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s