Potable water, Part II

The water at our temporary locale in South Padre Island is, shall we say, undrinkable. That’s not to say it’s contaminated because it certainly is safe to drink, but its eau de bleach is awful. My Beloved described it as “toxic waste you can taste.”

We had been guzzling bottled water by the gallon, but after watching “Tapped” earlier this week, we chose an alternative route. We were eagerly awaiting our new water filter ordered, of course, from Amazon and delivered, of course, by Brown.

I’m no expert on South Padre Island’s water source, but the Laguna Madre Water District is touting its Seawater Desalination Pilot Plant online. I suspect more unsavory sources than the deep blue sea, but that’s just rumor mongering.

In any case, this is what the inside of the former faucet aerator looked like:

faucet head

That stuff that looks like sand? It’s sand.

Setting aside the statistic that one in five adults admits to peeing in the pool, have you seen what dogs do on the beach? Well, chlorine can make it safe, but I know what “microscopic” means and the holes in that filter are bigger than microscopic.

Yuck.

(Gawd no! Water spots in the sink!)

(Gawd no! Water spots in the sink!)

So for the low, low price of $18.18, we got a Culligan facet-mount water filter, installed with a minimum of hassle. The real test, though, was the taste test.

Result?

Our filtered water tastes like …

Nothing!

Which is exactly how one wants one’s water to taste!

And as an added bonus, I’m not putting money in to the pockets of executives at Coco-Cola or Pepsi, two of the country’s biggest bottled water makers. Is “maker” the word I want? You know what I mean. And I’m assuming they’re not invested in Culligan. Hey, back off on the accusation of hypocrisy; I can be an Amazon fan while belittling other behemoth companies if I want to. It’s my blog.

Bonus bonus: Our filtered water is not tainted with Bisphenol A, the chemical compound required to manufacture plastic water bottles and considered by some to be at least hazardous, at worst toxic! Tough choice between human waste and toxic substances.

Water, water everywhere, and now a drop to drink. From a glass.

2 responses to “Potable water, Part II

  1. Something I know something about, I managed a Culligan for 15 yrs. Make sure you change the filter occasionally, you are using a carbon filter, if you use it past the recommended life it can be a breeding ground for bacteria. Love the blog, graduated with your sister and brother in law.

    • I thought I might know you from long ago and far away. Glad you are enjoying the blog (I love writing it, and I love readers). As for the filter, Culligan thoughtfully included a calendar sticker to remind me to change the filter. Brilliant! Even with filter changes, it’s a smokin’ deal.

Leave a Reply

