Famous blogger inspires kids to blog, too!

When I was in fifth grade, my greatest idea was capitalizing on my proximity to the Little Store by buying packs of “Charlie’s Angels” trading cards on my walk to school and selling them to kids who lived in the country and couldn’t buy them themselves.

I believe my profit was 5 cents a pack, which was a highway-robberyesque 20 percent markup. When I sold five packs, I could invest in a mini bag of Nacho Cheese Doritos, my favorite snack (still is).

Kids today, or at least kids at Merriman Park Elementary School in Texas, are a little more magnanimous in their goals. They want to blog.

(Hey, kids at Merriman Park Elementary: “Magnanimous” means “noble, big thinking, generous.”)

Yeah, bloggers are cool with their fast typing, big vocabulary and legions of fans. “When I grow up, I want to be a blogger”: I totally would have said that if web logs existed back in 1979. Instead, I aspired to write Danielle Steel novels. (To-may-to, to-mah-to.)

I met these noble writers at Merriman Park today on Skype when they interviewed me about blogging.

Their enthusiasm was contagious!

I addressed questions like “how long have you been blogging?” (four years) and “what inspired you to create your blog?” (the opportunity to write every day) but the best question was this one:

“Do you have tips for making blogs spicy?”

That’s a dangerous question for a woman who has written a memoir with the word “sex” in the title.

Settle down, people, settle down. These interviewers were in fifth grade.

My answer?

Details, details, details! Details make my blog posts spicy. C’mon, doesn’t the detail that a little girl was making money on trading cards for a 1970’s television show that was making money by selling, um, titillating storylines make this post that much spicier?

(Hey, kids at Merriman Park Elementary, “titillating” means “exciting.”)

Details, and sensational headlines. Sensational headlines are spicy, too (for example, see the headline on this post).

(Just kidding, kids, headlines should be descriptive, not sensational. Leave the sensational to the National Enquirer and Fox News.)

(Again, I kid!)

I enjoyed talking with these aspiring bloggers, and the attention highlighted how I feel about all my readers. The kids asked me, “What were your emotions when you first learned that people were reading your blog?”

I said I felt important.

I love my readers. Thanks for caring.

4 responses to “Famous blogger inspires kids to blog, too!

  1. Awe, that’s so cool 🙂 way to go!

  2. THANK YOU so much for taking the time to answer our questions and skype with us. The kids LOVED it! We will let you know when our school blog goes live! Smooches to you!

  3. Ann Marie Warrick

    This is my daughter, Ashley Ann’s Enrichment Cluster and she loved the interview today! She told me about it first thing after school. So cool you could do this for them and so cool Merriman Park has these awesome programs and teachers like Ms. Wright. Thanks for inspiring them! PS-she is beyond excited that they will be the subject of a real blog, can’t wait to show her this in the morning.

    • Ashley Ann is famous! I hope she feels important, too. And I agree, Ms. Wright is awesome — as a teacher, as a friend, as a blog follower!

Leave a Reply

