She’s good people

“The true measure of a man is not what he dreams, but what he aspires to be; a dream is nothing without action. Whether one fails or succeeds is irrelevant; all that matters is that there was motion in his life. That alone affects the world.”

~ Mike Norton, author of “White Mountain”

I reconnected with a former colleague today. I just happen to be in the area, and serendipity allowed us a couple of hours together before she had to catch a plane. She made time for me even though she was heading out of town. I felt pretty special.

Always smiling, she’s the sort of person who brightens the room when she enters it. When she shows you her homemade aprons or talks about the pet food cookbook she put together as a fundraiser for a humane shelter, she inspires you to pick up a new hobby or reinvent yourself. And she makes you laugh! Oh, we laughed about silly things today. (Like Brazilian wax jobs. Don’t ask. You had to be there.)

This person makes me want to be Optimistic. More creative. Funnier. She’s has that rare skill of bringing out the best in people.

After visiting with her, I had to wait a bit in a coffee shop to be picked up by my Beloved. With a few minutes on my hands, I called up a mutual friend and reminisced about old times and caught up on the news. Oh, and we laughed!

In that small act, I hope I was paying it forward.

2 responses to “She’s good people

  1. Perhaps you should consider adding a US map with some form of creative trail or icon that shows where you are in all these travels.

Leave a Reply

