Lesson 1 in your presidential election primer: Watch Romney tonight

“Do your duty, and leave the rest to heaven.”

~ Pierre Corneille

I invoke this quote from Pierre Corneille, a French playwright, to compel you to believe it is your duty to watch Mitt Romney’s nomination acceptance speech tonight at the Republican National Convention.

If it was already on your evening schedule, this post is not for you.

But if you didn’t even know the Republicans were meeting this week, or you didn’t know Romney was speaking tonight or you don’t know who Mitt Romney is, please reconsider your decision to watch “Project Runway” or enjoy Thirsty Thursday specials at the local watering hole. (I will, however, permit you to tape Heidi Klum & company — that’s what I’m doing — or watch Romney while imbibing — I might be doing that, too.)

Mitt Romney is the Republicans’ candidate for president. A six-word resumé for him would be this: High-powered businessman, former governor, multi-millionaire, Mormon. The back story: Romney, who battled it out in the most exciting Republican primary elections in ages, is running against Democrat Barack Obama, who is attempting to secure a second term as president. The election is in 67 short days on Nov. 6.

I completely understand why you think your vote doesn’t matter or why you might believe all politicians are greedy and deceitful or why politics is more boring than watching paint dry.

But I think voting is a privilege and a duty of being an American, and if you’re going to vote, you really ought to be informed. A lot of other campaigns may be boring and not worth watching (such as the one for village clerk or state representative), but determining who the man who becomes president of the United States is important.

Who is in charge might not make any difference in the country’s direction, but I’m with Corneille: Do your duty, and leave the rest to heaven.

I am not here promoting either candidate, only that a citizen’s minimum effort in electing a president should include:

  1. Watching Romney’s speech.
  2. Watching Obama’s speech next Thursday.
  3. Watching at least part of one presidential debate.
  4. Voting on Nov. 6.

This is not too much to ask in return for the American infrastructure and freedoms you enjoy every day.

To conclude today’s lesson, I will invoke another Corneille quote:

“All evils are equal when they are extreme.”

~ Pierre Corneille

8 responses to “Lesson 1 in your presidential election primer: Watch Romney tonight

  1. sheenaeastonwannabe

    So well said! Thank you for your candor and for reminding us why this Thursday (and next) are important. We all need to listen with open minds and open hearts and then think for ourselves, and vote.

  2. We missed the Romney speech; we were on the last leg of our journey home. Hubby didn’t find anything on the radio – and he would have listened to that. I hate politics but I do vote, and am definitely planning to vote in this election. Thanks for the reminder here.

  3. isiscambassassassassian

    Why is Mormon in anyway relevant in Romney’s resume? Is it more relevant that the term Christian in Obama’s?

    • I think you ask a fair question. I included it because we have not had a Mormon president before which makes it noteworthy, and his faith has shaped both his life and work (several speakers at the convention talked about his leadership positions in the church). I think it is as relevant as Obama being black.

  4. I’m not sure I believe the speeches, on either side, are much more than pandering empty rhetoric. I try to base my vote on the candidates’ previous track record and official platform plus analysis from a variety of politic writers. The speeches and the theater of the RNC and DNC just don’t appeal to me at all. It’s all a big show designed to rev you up; I’d rather watch the Twins lose again! (I do watch the Presidential debates though; I do want to study how the candidates respond. Less their actual words, which I don’t trust, but the character that comes through.)

    But I absolutely do agree you need to consider both sides!

    AND VOTE!!

  5. Pingback: Lesson 3 in your presidential primary: Watch a debate | Minnesota Transplant

Leave a Reply

