Today is someday: I’m an author

Young adult author Judy Bloom published a diary in the 1980s filled with lots of blank lines, quotes from her myriad books and question prompts. As a teenager, I filled four of these diaries with my darkest secrets and wishes.

My copy of The Judy Bloom Diary from 1984 is well-worn and filled with memorabilia.

In June 1984 when I was 17, among the highlights I remembered about June was  the book “A Perfect Stranger” by Danielle Steel.  “Very, very good,” I wrote. “I’d like to write as well.”

While I recall reading a lot of Danielle Steel’s novels, I don’t remember any of the details. A quick internet search sparks my memory: “A Perfect Stranger” is the story of a young woman married to an old man who meets and falls for a handsome acquaintance. The Amazon.com review describes it as the “classic duty-versus-love dilemma.”

One has to love romance novels to admire Danielle Steel, but her popularity indicates she’s doing something right despite an occasional review like “everything about this book is predictable and boring.”

I knew at 17 that writing was part of my DNA. And writers write books, of course.

Today, my 17-year-old self’s wish comes true: I’m a published author. “The Percussionist’s Wife: A Memoir of Sex, Crime & Betrayal” is available for sale.

It remains to be seen if I write as well as one the most popular romance novelists of all time, but my first book, a memoir, might be described as a “classic duty-versus-love dilemma,” too. Here’s the blurb:

“The Percussionist’s Wife” is the riveting story of a writer who marries a drummer. Talented and tortured, the drummer is caught in a compromising situation with one of his drum line students and is ultimately prosecuted for a sex crime. The complete account of the crime and the resulting collateral damage on their marriage are told here. “The Percussionist’s Wife” is a brave portrait of a flawed relationship and the irrevocable damage caused by infidelity.

I’m jumping out of my skin with excitement. When I was living the story, I had no idea how the universe would realign to turn a sow’s ear into a silk purse but it’s not every day one can say, “My dreams have come true.”

Thanks to my family and friends — especially my Beloved husband — who have encouraged me to write, to persevere and to put my story out there.

You can find “The Percussionist’s Wife” in paperback from Amazon for $16.95 and hardcover from Lulu for $32.95. If ebooks are your preferred method of enjoying a good book, you’ll find it on Kindle, Nook and Kobo (for iPad) for $9.95. Kindle versions of “The Percussionist’s Wife” are also available in English from Amazon in the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Spain, Italy and India.

5 responses to “Today is someday: I’m an author

  1. What a milestone!
    Wishing you all the best.

  2. sheenaeastonwannabe

    Congratulations! I am looking forward to reading it.

  3. Kudos and Congratulations!!

  4. Monica,
    Just a quick note to say congratulations and let you know I ordered your book today!!

Leave a Reply

