Desktop transformation to make way for creativity

Before: My desk was a pigsty. How does this woman get anything done?!

Even those of us not going back to school this year could use a little “brand new crayons” inspiration.

You know how that new box of crayons simply demands to be used creatively? A clean desk is the same way. So in honor of the new school year, I cleaned my desk. I even dusted.

Now, I can get something done.

After: You can actually see the top of my desk. What a transformation!

Cleaning, by the way, is an excellent way to procrastinate.

“Second thoughts oftentimes
are the very worst of all thoughts.”

~ William Shenstone

 

14 responses to “Desktop transformation to make way for creativity

  1. Good work there! My desk looks a might cluttered now… 🙂

  2. I actually clear my desk each night so I can start the next day fresh and ready to create whatever!!

  3. Impressive before and after! 😉

  4. Reminds me of the quote (usually misattributed to Einstein), “If a cluttered desk signs a cluttered mind, of what, then, is an empty desk a sign?”

    Of course, a neat desk would then be the sign of…?

  5. Amazing, who would think not just your desk but mine too could look like the first photo. I felt like a detective looking at it! Left handed eh! Must tidy mine today…

    • I wondered if anyone would notice that. I’m actually right-handed but a couple years ago I was in so much pain on the right side of my neck that I trained myself to use the mouse on the left. No problems since. I was using a different computer last week for design and I worked the mouse with my right hand. Pain was back for awhile.

      It’s good for your brain to use a mouse (or toothbrush or whatever) with your non-dominant hand.

  6. The mouse position was the FIRST thing I noticed! I guess I need to start brushing my teeth with my left hand.

  7. woah crazy facts about left handed ness!!! ^

    cleaning is so awesome for uncluttering your brain..

  8. I was working from home today and so I had to clean off my desk too. It really is therapeutic!

  9. I need a whole house transformation…how long did it take for this one to get finished?

    • Honestly? About a week to think about it and procrastinate and about three hours of actual work. I tried not to just move piles around but to actually sort and put things away (or in the garbage). My advice: Tackle one pile, one shelf, one file at a time.

Leave a Reply

