Hot tip on a decadent dinner (and the only utensils you need are a cheese slicer and a wine glass)

“Cheese is milk’s leap toward immortality.”

~ Clifton Fadiman

My latest food obsession is pesto gouda.

On our trip to Minnesota last month, we stopped at a cheese shop somewhere between Madison and Osseo, Wisconsin, and the proprietor offered me a sample of her pesto cheese.

A slice of delicious on a Pecan Nut-Thin (not as good as a Tricuit, but wheat-free).

Oh, so creamy with a hint of tartness and a nuance of “Italian.” It was divine. We bought a half pound.

I devoured the whole wedge in two sittings, topping slices of pesto gouda with fresh pesto and fresh halved cherry tomatoes on top of Fire-Roasted Tomato & Olive Oil Triscuits. Oh, with a glass of Ménage à Trois red wine. That was dinner two nights in a row. Yes, if you’re counting, that’s four ounces of cheese in a sitting — I’m not promoting a low-cholesterol meal, I’m suggesting a delicious little binge.

Anyway, on our way back home to Illinois, we intended to stop and pick up a pound (or two) of this delicious cheese. But going in the other direction, we somehow missed it. I know what the building looks like, but I can’t tell you where it is, other than along Interstate 94. Or I-90. Not sure.

I’ve made do since then with Dofino Pesto Gouda, available at fine supermarkets probably everywhere. It’s not quite the same as that artisanal stuff in Wisconsin, but it’s pretty good.

And then today, I found a block of Tomato Basil Gouda from Eichten’s Hidden Acres. Can’t wait to try that, maybe with some more fresh pesto from the garden. Note to self: Tomorrow’s to do list must include making pesto.

Oh, and picking up a good bottle of red wine.

11 responses to “Hot tip on a decadent dinner (and the only utensils you need are a cheese slicer and a wine glass)

  1. I love pesto cheese! (Dill Havarti is tasty as well.) And you’ll always find a box of the Fire-Roasted Tomato Triscuits in my pantry… right next to the Garden Herb box! 🙂

  2. Reminds me of when we were in Wisconsin Dells and visited the cheese shop and drank wine! Sounds like a perfect dinner to me 🙂

    • minnesotatransplant

      I’ll have to bring you a hunk of that cheese next time we come to Minnesota. Maybe have a glass of wine together!

  3. I LOVE cheese…. tomato basil is excellent on top of broccoli egg bake.

  4. Were you at a dairy or a cheese shop that carries lots of different brands. If the latter I am guessing your Pesto Gouda came from Hollands in Thorp, WI. They make award winning goudas.

    • minnesotatransplant

      Oh, thank you, Jeanne! The Holland’s lead was right! We bought their cheese at Foster’s Cheese Haus in Osseo! (So say the pictures online). And Holland’s sells online. Alas, they’re out of pesto Gouda temporarily, but I’ll check later. Thanks!

  5. They are a fairly small operation so they don’t produce like Kraft. And they have a wonderful little store attached to the dairy. Their smoked gouda is marvelous too.

  6. YUMMY! I think it’s time for some cheese.

Leave a Reply

