Pain and puzzlement

Four things I’m tired of and one thing that puzzles me:

  1. I’m tired of road construction on Interstate 90. Seems to never end, yet the roadway is never smooth either.
  2. I’m tired of paying $4.04 a gallon for gas. Stupid Illinois gas tax.
  3. I’m tired of formatting my book!
  4. I’m tired of my green toenails. Note to self: OPI’s Mermaid’s Tears might look good on a sea creature, but it just looks monstrous on my feet. Green is not an attractive nail color.

And the one thing that puzzles me? Why is Maroon 5 singing about Mick Jagger and payphones? Aren’t those symbols a little out of time with the Maroon 5 crowd? My stepson says tonight, “What does ‘moves like Jagger’ mean? I mean, I know who Jagger is, but what does he move like? Is it a dance move or does he have an Elvis thing going on?”

I prescribed a few minutes with You Tube.

7 responses to “Pain and puzzlement

  1. If I stop in for a few minutes during our MN-OH roadtrip in October, I could take that awful green polish off your hands.. so to speak šŸ™‚ It’ll look great with my yellow flip flops. šŸ™‚
    Oh, and LOL to Maroon 5.

  2. Re point 2, we’re past the nine dollar mark here. Ouch. We borrowed money this year to buy a ‘new’ car for my husband with better fuel economy, and the saving on fuel is way more than the loan payments. How’s that for a crazy world?

    And green, been there, tried that, no way – you are so right!

    • minnesotatransplant

      Oh, dear, yes, I remember how expensive gas was in your part of the world. Nine dollars — that’s awful. Where are the solar-powered cars when we could use them?

  3. Oh yeah, and Maroon 5, Jagger, well I guess it’s a Brit thing. Personally, I’m not a Jagger fan – give me Roger Daultrey, Tom Jones or Steve Tyler any day…

  4. A reply from the logophile. Could formatting (re-re-reformatting) be something like editing and re-editing, i.e. a way to postpone the inevitable: the completion of your book in such a way that you feel confident enough to publish it? This is what came to mind when I read that you are tired of formatting. Some years ago, after three abortive attempts to write three different books – in which I did a whole lot of editing – I finally killed that habit. I read The Gotham Writers’ Workshop ‘Writing Fiction’ and finally felt that I was better equipped to write a book. This stopped me from merely editing and I actually wrote the whole thing. I got a lot further! šŸ™‚ It’s just that I am now ridiculously stuck on rewriting the last 50 pages (of 350) because I envisaged a change. I blame it on being crushed by perimenopausal insecurity. šŸ˜‰

    • minnesotatransplant

      Interesting insight. Procrastination is one of my character flaws. Perhaps an eighth inch ( a problem yesterday with my hardcover dust jacket) is just not that important! I need a mantra along the lines of “I think I can” — something like, “Get over it” but maybe more uplifting.

Leave a Reply

