Something so pleasant about crazy

This entrepreneur’s perspective on Big Business echoes my own:

Entrepreneur Erik Martin: Yeah, you’re crazy to do this, but you’re almost more crazy to work at some big company.

Reporter Amy Standen: Erik Martin is general manager of the social news site Reddit and a NewME mentor. He says, sure, the odds of any start-up becoming the next Instagram or Dropbox, let alone Facebook, are long.

Martin: So are the odds of working at some big company that doesn’t give a crap about you and is making much more money off of you than they’re paying you.

This I heard on National Public Radio this morning as I was driving down the road, working for myself. And then I thought of crazy-like-a-fox Gnarls Barkley’s 2006 hit, to which I pounded out many miles while training for a marathon six years ago:

I remember when, I remember
I remember when I lost my mind
There was something so pleasant about that place
Even your emotions have an echo in so much space

And when you’re out there without care
Yeah, I was out of touch
But it wasn’t because I didn’t know enough
I just knew too much

Does that make me crazy?
Does that make me crazy?
Does that make me crazy?
Possibly.

~ Gnarls Barkley

Leave a Reply

