Leave it to a Minnesotan to confuse her exotic fruits

Let’s just say, it’s a good thing I’m not covering the Supreme Court.

I don’t even know my exotic fruits, let alone my constitutional decisions.

Like CNN, which was too fast on the Twitter trigger this morning, I blew it on yesterday’s passion fruit experiment.

When I was growing up in a small town in semi-northern Minnesota, the grocery store offered the following fruit options: apples, oranges and bananas. Seasonally, one could buy berries and melons.

That’s it.

So, can I be blamed for confusing a rambutan for a passion fruit?

Well, yes, I can. As a former journalist, I pride myself on proper research and accuracy, but googling “how to eat a passion fruit” without googling “images of passion fruit” was a big mistake.

A rambutan, surgically removed from Mr. Snuffleupagus’s eye socket (just kidding).

Yesterday’s post about passion fruit was a sham. What I was actually experimenting with was a rambutan. Thanks to Megs over at MegsFitness for enlightening me. Because blog posts live forever on the internet, the post has been corrected and updated. Minnesota Transplant regrets the error and all that.

I’m wondering if they were improperly labeled at the grocery store, or if the passion fruit were being displayed right next to the rambutans and I just assumed I was buying a passion fruit? The receipt says “passion fruit” but I remember authoritatively telling the cashier it was a passion fruit.

I will be in the vicinity of that grocery store next week, so I will doublecheck. And if I can buy a passion fruit there, I shall.

You’ll read it here first. Error free, I hope.

2 responses to “Leave it to a Minnesotan to confuse her exotic fruits

  1. Ah! I wouldn’t have known what it was either because I’m a minnesota girl too. I briefly tried doing a new-fruit-a-week gig last summer and I came across the Rambutan.

    If you carry on with your adventures, try a horned melon 🙂 It looks like a fat yellow spiky cucumber and you’ll be in for a surprise on the inside.

  2. Pingback: Bad reporting or misleading signage? | Minnesota Transplant

Leave a Reply

