If living longer is the prize, turtles win

Everything in moderation, it’s said. Even running.

Researchers at the University of South Carolina Arnold School of Public Health and other institutions, I read in today’s Star Tribune, combed through the records of more than 50,000 U.S. adults and determined joggers who ran fewer than 20 miles a week live longer than:

  • Non-runners (aka couch potatoes — no news here).
  • Runners who go farther than 20 miles a week (those crazy lunatics).
  • Runners who run faster than 7 miles per hour (hares, do you hear this?).

Nah-nah-naboo-boo.

OK, you can find (or manufacture) research to justify just about anything (including drinking more than six cups of coffee a day, fathering children late in life and eating Subway sandwiches twice a day), but this is the kind of research I love. Because I run really ridiculously slow.

The researchers defined joggers as those who ran 10 or 11 minutes per mile. Lately, 11-minute miles on my morning jog have been impressive.

Holy cowloney, it’s been hot. That’s my excuse. Age has nothing to do with it.

In any case, slow going will keep me alive longer.

Good thing. Moving so slowly means my runs are longer. So I’ll take all the time I can get.

3 responses to “If living longer is the prize, turtles win

  1. I think there’s a typo @_@
    “The researchers defined joggers as those who ran 10 or 11 mph. Lately, 11 mph on my morning jog has been impressive.”

    Do you mean 10 or 11 minute mile? (Because that’s about 5-6 miles/hour)

  2. If it isn’t a typo, 11 mph makes me look like a sloth! I run 3 times a week for 30 minutes and the treadmill tells me I go 4.5 mph. Either way, I’m pretty pleased about this research myself.

    • minnesotatransplant

      Good catch, Megs! You’re right. Fixed now. If I were running 11 mph, it must be in my dreams!

Leave a Reply

