Need some beach reading? I’m eyeing these titles

A friend asked for some book ideas, so I thought I’d share my summer reading list. I haven’t read these titles, but I’ve read good things about them so they’re on my list:

  • I’ve already started “Dosed: The Medication Generation Grows Up” by Kaitlin Bell Barnett. It’s a well-documented piece of nonfiction about how kids today are taking all kinds of psychotropic drugs for AD/HD, depression and other diagnosed mental disorders without anyone really knowing how it affects them long term.
  • “The Hare with Amber Eyes: A Hidden Inheritance” by Edmund de Waal comes highly recommended by a librarian who leads book clubs.
  • A writer hoping for a best seller might like “Hit Lit: Cracking the Code of the Twentieth Century’s Biggest Best Sellers” by James W. Hall.
  • “The Simplesizing Break: Illuminating and Simplifying the Path” by Jane Carroo, with whom I mingle at local National Association of Professional Organizers  meetings.
  • “A Madman Dreams of Turing Machines” by Janna Levin tells the fictionalized story of a real mathematician and a World War II code breaker. I heard a fascinating interview with the author on “On Being.”
  • “Gone Girl: A Novel” by Gillian Flynn sounds like one of those rare pieces of fiction that would appeal to me. It’s a mystery about a couple: a wife who disappears on their fifth anniversary and her husband who is the prime suspect.
  • A blogger who thinks they can write books (and anyone who likes to laugh) might enjoy “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)” by Jenny Lawson, also known as The Bloggess.
  • Think you can write a book? Check out “Just Write: Here’s How” by Walter Dean Myers, best known for his young adult books. I heard an interview with him on “Here & Now.”
  • “Because I Can: Doing what I can, with what I have, where I am” by Janet Oberholtzer tells the story of a woman who almost lost her legs in a terrible accident but lived to tell about it and run again. (Because I am a sucker for memoirs.)

What do I need to add to my list?

Leave a Reply

