Extreme Makeover: Leftovers Edition

Leftovers are not boring retreads of yesterday’s meal to me. They are the opportunity for creativity in a styrofoam box.

Occasionally, I will simply reheat leftovers in the microwave and eat them, but more often, I am looking for an unrecognizable reincarnation to enjoy.

Yesterday was a blockbuster day for leftovers doppelgängers:

  • Breakfast: Leftover spinach and artichoke dip was mixed with a slice of fried bacon to make the filling for an omelet. The omelet itself was spiked with leftover kale pesto (yes we make kale pesto in this house) and topped with leftover avocado. Take that, Kellogg’s boxed cereal!
  • Lunch: Leftover fried chicken takeout was way too heavy for a midday meal, so I skinned it, cubed the meat and made chicken salad (complete with mayo and two kinds of mustard: Hearty Course Ground Grey Poupon and Classic Yellow French’s) for my Beloved’s sandwich. He had a side of leftover tomato-roasted red pepper soup. I enjoyed a steak salad, prepared with Friday night’s leftover rib eye from Texas Roadhouse plus feta cheese, walnuts and dried cranberries. No boring soup, salad and sandwich here!
  • Supper: My steak on Friday came with sautéed onions and mushrooms, but they were rejected as salad fixings in lunch. But they became tasty additions along with celery and garlic to a wild rice pilaf, which served as a foundation for Fire-Roasted Italian Cod (thanks, Schwan’s).

Now I have 2 tablespoons of chicken salad (cracker topping?) and a serving of wild rice pilaf to use up. Hmm, I wonder how I’ll enjoy those leftovers?

2 responses to “Extreme Makeover: Leftovers Edition

  1. a woman after my own heart 🙂 ….chicken salad? ~ scoop out the center of a small tomato, drop in the chicken and enjoy for lunch 🙂 …pilaf, heat up a 1-2 sized serving of broth, add the rice and a few frozen veggies for a simple soup. ….Just thinking 😉

    • minnesotatransplant

      Oh! Brilliant! I still have a package of chicken and rice soup mix from a company we both know! My wild rice pilaf leftovers would make that hearty. Yum! Good thinking!

Leave a Reply

