Dream works

Grace is “a powerful force originating outside of human consciousness which nurtures the spiritual growth of human beings,” writes M. Scott Peck in “The Road Less Traveled: A New Psychology of Love, Traditional Values and Spiritual Growth.”

Among other methods, Peck argues, grace speaks in our dreams, so I have been paying better attention to my dreams since I read his book. Coincidentally, my horoscope this morning said, “Your intuition will be very strong at the moment, and you could even end up having some very powerful dreams.”

Early this morning, I dreamt I was standing at the edge of a swimming pool. The pool was crowded with swimmers and flowing over its concrete borders. It was so full, the water was contained only by the surrounding landscape — piles of snow. Standing there looking down at the water teeming with swimmers, I imagined the water to be icy cold.

A few definitions, according to SmartGirls’ Dream Dictionary:

  • To see a swimming pool full of water in your dream is lucky, symbolizing that you will find much happiness and pleasure in friendship, love and marriage.
  • Dreams about swimming are related to the need to trust your instincts and look to past situations for answers to problems. They can also signify the need for nurturing or mothering in one’s life (Mom, call me.)
  • To dream that you are cold suggests that you are experiencing a breakthrough in some area in your life.
  • To dream that you are part of a crowd suggests that you need to start thinking more for yourself instead of following others.

As I ponder these messages of grace, I’m thinking this dream speaks of my career aspirations and my wishes to self-publish my manuscript.

What do you think? How is grace speaking to you?

Leave a Reply

