Chicken with zting!

While I obsessively tear recipes out of magazines so I’ll have them when I want to try them, I usually draw inspiration for dinner from the contents of my fridge.

Yesterday, I had lots of chicken breasts from my trip to Costco on Saturday and an abundance of a little too large cucumbers from the garden. These ingredients inspired … Greek Chicken with tzatziki sauce!

If you’ve never enjoyed tzatziki sauce, you really ought to give it a try. It’s cooling and spicy and a wonderful foil for grilled chicken.

If you’re feeling adventurous (or you have a lot of cucumbers or fresh mint) here’s the recipe:

Tzatziki Sauce

  • 1 cup nonfat plain yogurt (like my mother, I drain mine so it’s thicker, like Greek yogurt)
  • 2/3 cup peeled and finely diced cucumber
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon dill
  • 2-3 tablespoon chopped fresh mint
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon white vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Combine all ingredients and chill. Serves four.

I marinated my chicken breasts in olive oil and Mediterranean seasoning. Grill.

Serve the chicken breasts on a bed of lettuce and fresh cherry tomatoes, halved, with the tzatziki sauce on the side.

For dessert? Homemade Dark Chocolate Brownies with Dried Cherries. Inspired by a recipe from the newspaper.

(If it weren’t for that second “z,” “tzatziki” would make a great Scrabble word!)

2 responses to “Chicken with zting!

  1. Pingback: A long story to share a mediocre recipe and a good lesson | Minnesota Transplant

  2. Reblogged this on And then there's me and commented:
    This sounds like a great recipe… There’s no picture for pinning, so I’ll share it with all of you. A Tzatziki Sauce Recipe from Minnesota Transplant.

Leave a Reply

