4.0 ain’t what it used to be

Can someone explain to this old-timer why schools nowadays don’t all use a 4.0 scale?

When I was in high school, an A equaled 4 points, a B 3 points, etc. If you got all A’s, you had a 4.0 grade point average.

Nowadays, if you take Honors classes, an A equals 6 points. Or if you take Advanced classes, an A equals 5 points.

So now Cas thinks he can get a C in his Honors class because it won’t hurt his 4.0 grade point average.

Hmm … it doesn’t quite work that way, Honey. Because there’s somebody in that Honors class who’s getting an A and is working on a 6.0 grade point average (well, la ti da!).

It prompted me to look up the requirements for Northwestern University, which has been mentioned as a university Cas might someday want to attend. Did you know 70% of applicants are rejected at Northwestern? Ouch. I wonder how many of them got C’s! In Honors classes or otherwise!

It was easy for me, back in the ’80s. I got all A’s. But I guess a 4.0 GPA doesn’t give you insight into all of the mysteries of the modern world.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s