Greasy is green?

When it comes to hair, I’m a slave to trends.

My scrapbooks are a virtual tribute to hairstylists. Ice skater Dorothy Hamill made the wedge famous when she won a medal in the 1976 Olympics. In 1977, my fifth grade school photo sports me in a wedge.

A year later, there I was flipping my Farrah Fawcett ‘do when Farrah was one of Charlie’s Angels. I liked that one so much, I wore it for about five years.

I got sick of my long locks, and I cut my hair so short it was shaved in back for my senior picture. I looked like I was 35. I’ve never cut my hair so short again.

I had a lot of perms and questionable dirty blonde dye jobs in the late ’80s and early ’90s. For the engagement picture with my first husband sometime in the spring of 1990, I distinctly recall the professional photographer patting down my hair in the studio and saying, “Holy big hair, Batman.”

After a couple of years of being too cheap (maybe I was legitimately poor) to get regular haircuts, I got the Rachel cut in 1996. I had never even watched “Friends” with Jennifer Aniston until after I got the haircut (but that’s how good my hairstylist, Sandy, was — she knew the trends even if I didn’t).

Up until I was 40, I figured I would have to go short again when I entered my fourth decade. “Old ladies” don’t look good in long hair. But then I turned 4o, and no way am I an “old lady”!

So my hair is long and usually in a ponytail or a shaggy up-do. I felt sort of guilty about not washing it every day until I heard this story on National Public Radio this morning.

Essentially, it says we Americans shampoo too much because the shampoo companies tell us to! Lather, rinse, repeat, you know. There’s an eco-conscious “no-poo” movement afoot that suggests that the less you wash, the less greasy your hair will be!

So, there you go! I’m on trend again!

One response to “Greasy is green?

  1. Pingback: Shampoo is so yesterday; now is WEN | Minnesota Transplant

Leave a Reply

